I spent a couple of hours today with a former principal of Roosevelt High School, Don James. He’ll be dead in a couple of days.

I was making a portrait photograph of him in his apartment. As we talked I learned his history. I told him I had just taken a self-guided tour of Roosevelt a week ago. At the time I thought I was just killing time or looking for old memories (I didn’t leave any there before, so.) I took pictures of the memorials to Roosevelt students who wandered off to war over the decades.

I really didn’t know why I had gone there until I talked with Mr. James. I think he was really jazzed talking about his time at Roosevelt. He’s a lovely man, very serious but not heavy: considered and decided about his future.

He’s been a lot of things in his valuable life, but his great joy is his partner of almost 60 years. What an accomplishment.

