Back in town in time for one of our great cultural, sporting and often scientific events – the Metropolitan Learning Center’s Annual Egg Drop Contest. Nice sunny day with a brisk breeze which kept the audience on their toes.


I don’t know how many of these have occurred, but I have kept an irregular schedule of them since at least 1974. I am a big fan.

I’ve seen wings and chutes and balloons and rubber balls and watermelons. I have seen high school dudes try to barehand one. The important modifier in the last sentence is try. I’ve seen baby dolls filled with cotton balls and a chicken egg flying through the sky.


The goal is to get a raw egg from the roof to the cement below by freefall without breaking it. Each kid create some sort of object – and there are some rules about rocketry I suppose – to protect the egg from descent and impact.

This year as usual the second and third graders dominated with a variety of boxes and baskets both with decorations and without. Let me advise future participants. 1. you can do better than a cardboard box, and 2. parachutes are a good idea.

But ideas abound and it’s amazing to see the absolute uniformity to this program year after year, decade after decade.

Another big fan – MLC teacher Lewis Holland!

If you think you grew up and left MLC, think again. You’re still here, just now with a different body and a different name. You’re still having the same experience.

This year I noticed a couple of changes – maybe I missed last year. Who knows. But these changes to the grand tradition are good.

1. Some kids were on the roof throwing their own project down to the cement audience below. This is an opportunity no kid should miss. Chance of a lifetime.

2. Kids did the announcing and did an excellent job of it. In the past teachers used a bullhorn to say things like, “You’ll have to move farther back. No – farther!” Pretty boring.

3. Kids whose egg survived got to ring a cowbell as a reward. Sweet!

